Day 1 without a day job

And away we go… I’ve been building for nearly two years to reach this point. And so it begins.

James Altucher and others talk about quitting your job all the time, and I finally did it. I ran into a friend at the Davis Farmer’s Market over the weekend. About a year ago, he left his day job to be a full-time flight instructor. He had a newborn baby girl at the time. He asked what the decision was like for me. I told him – “You know, there wasn’t a cosmic event where all the sudden you now see the 4th dimension.”

He laughed – “Yeah, you’re standing there waiting, waiting, waiting to make the jump, and then you do and realize the water is only ankle-deep.”

That’s about right. Already today, at 7am, a time when I used to be listening in on a sales pipeline conference call with a sales team based in Washington DC is instead filled with coordination emails around my website redesign, planning a SalesBarCamp, and planning out the rest of the week.

It’s here, and I’m in it, hiding the stress under building my business, and confident that somehow, someway, I’m going to make this work.

3 responses to “Day 1 without a day job

  1. Way to go Scott! Let me know if I can help at all!

  2. Been doing it on my own since 1998 and I would never look back. The first day will be the best as no one is calling you and no staff are waiting by your door to talk to you. Value the peacefulness of it while you can. And, work harder than you have ever worked in your life. You never want to say, what if? And, build a business plan, have advisors and go at it with the understanding of what it takes to be an entrepreneur. Basically it is a lonely existence that requires a lot of hard and fast decisions related to staffing, strategy, fund raising and a lot of customer and staff counseling sessions 🙂

  3. Looking forward to seeing your new website…

Leave a Reply

